EAT MORE KALE?!

emktshirt

WTH is “EAT MORE KALE”?! and why do I keep seeing it everywhere? Bumpers, T-Shirts….hoodies…
Well, I have started to see these things too. More often when I was at a local Organic market. I’d see a car backing out with a bumber sticker reading “eat more kale”. I became curious after this happening a few times. I actually spoke to Bo-Muller Moore (Owner) in an e-mail. Pretty cool dude! He seems very laid back and calm as a cucumber..errr Kale! Haha!
Here, on his site, he explains Eat More Kale:
http://www.eatmorekale.com
“I’m asked all the time, “Hey Bo, what do you mean by ‘Eat More Kale’ and where did the phrase come from?” Well, it means a lot of things to a lot of people.

A couple of friends of mine, Paul and Kate of High-Ledge Farm, penned the phrase over ten years ago when they special ordered two shirts for themselves. I must admit, I gave the design very little thought. I drew the letters and cut the stencil in less than 20 minutes. I printed their shirts and delivered them at the next farmer’s market. The idea became “viral” before people knew what “viral” was, then quickly spread to all corners of the world. Now, as a one man show, it’s everything I can do to keep up with the demand.

Most obviously, it’s about eating healthier. Kale can be delicious and a SUPER FOOD! You *should* eat more of it. An ancient ancestor of the cabbage plant, kale is primarily a cold-weather crop with a taste not unlike collard greens. It grows in a lot of conditions and climates that are inhospitable to other vegetables and can get tastier with a hard freeze.

Eat More Kale is about supporting small business, business that actually cares and hasn’t been swallowed up by the profit-hungry, corporate mentality. For years I was a one man show, so my shirts are distinctive, offbeat, one-of-a-kind works of art. I’m happy now to actually employ a handful of local friends to help me keep up with my expanding micro-business. That said, I have no giant call-centers to hide behind and I don’t need them. I am one man, with some good friends who are also handy with squeegees and that’s how I like it. When you see someone wearing one of my t-shirts you will instantly recognize it’s personal style, character and the care we took to craft it.

Eat More Kale is also about being part of a worldwide movement, a t-shirt revolution. My customers hail from all around the globe and I really dig that. When you buy a shirt from me I’d sure appreciate if you sent a picture of you wearing it somewhere so I can add it to my wall. If you want to check out my collection of photos you can see them here.

I’m also about eating locally, supporting local farmers, bakers, famers markets, farm stands, CSA’s, community gardens and restaurants, sustainable lifestyles, social commentary and community. Most importantly, I’m about printin’ Vermont’s one-at-a-time original design t-shirts. Have fun and remember: eat more kale!!!”
So be sure to check him out, eat more kale, veggies, and rock some EMK gear too!
http://www.eatmorekale.com
And if you want to do a world of good, be sure to stop by here really fast: http://www.change.org/petitions/chick-fil-a-stop-bullying-small-business-owners
And sign this petition! It is to support small business practices. Chik-Fil-A wants to take down Bo’s Company (EMK) for allegedly “confusing” the public about “eat more Chikin” versus “eat more kale”. Just wow. Sign so they can’t shut him down!
Don’t forget to check me out too! Want some tasty Kale recipes, vegan desserts, RAW food fun, Green beauty reviews? Stop by my places too 😉
FaceBook: https://www.facebook.com/supernaturalegal?ref=hl
Tumblr: http://amariebeauty127.tumblr.com/
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/amariebeauty127/
xoOXo,
Super-Naturale

Leave a Reply

